Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
MQA>Qualifications>Recognition of Prior Learning

Recognition of Prior Learning

Established under the Mauritius Qualifications Authority (MQA) Act 2001, one of the functions of the MQA is “to recognise and validate competencies for the purpose of certification obtained outside the formal education and training systems”.
This function is achieved through the implementation of the Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL). RPL is a process of acknowledging prior learning that occurred in many contexts namely work, involvement in social and community activities, or learning through life experience generally. However, such learning should be matched against the relevant standard. The main focus of RPL is therefore the learning outcomes, in the form of skills and knowledge of experiences, and not how, when or where the learning occurred.
In order to develop a national approach to RPL, the MQA has formulated a Policy on RPL following the first pilot project that was conducted in 2008. The formulation of the Policy, benchmarked against international norms is driven by the development of the knowledge economy and society, the rapid pace of technological evolution, and the globalisation of the economy.

Read More